Is College Necessary?

I was thinking today about my goals and what I want to do for a living, once I'm out of high school.
And I'm really passionate about opening a sneaker/clothing shop in Chicago, maybe in the Gold Coast neighborhood.
But would I need to go to college to be successful in running my own business.
Does Nike and other shoe suppliers determine if they want to give your store an account by what
kind of degree you have?

Any advice/input?

Think of it this way, how many people are going to stand in your way of realizing that dream...assuming you still have it upon graduation.

1) Those same people will be giving you a loan (assuming you need one)
2) You will be competing against others who need money for whatever business venture they have
3) You may want to have a college degree to fall back on
4) Why not take some business courses to help you run your business without spending a lot of money on outside help, etc.

I should major in business right? But what other courses should I take?
Should I take graphic design because I would also like to be able to make my
own in store brand of tees.
And I know it's going to be really difficult to be successful, but life isn't easy.
If I fail, I'll just keep trying.

Originally Posted by Redrum SB

And I'm really passionate about opening a sneaker/clothing shop

99% of NTers are really passionate about opening a sneaker shop, how many fall through
laugh.gif

Originally Posted by Crank Lucas

99% of NTers are really passionate about opening a sneaker shop, how many fall through
laugh.gif
I'm going to follow through with it, it's my dream, I take it quite seriously.

If your future is relient on the hypebeasts of today you better go to school. The market will soon reach saturation and you'll be SOL. Unless you have areally, really, good idea for your business I don't see much hope for you. Everything you plan on doing has already been done. Good luck.

PS - GO to college.

Originally Posted by carlosdapaperboy