What Football player could retire and play in the NBA?

I'm not an expert on how good certain football players are at basketball, but I have been wondering this. My guess is nobody. I don't think there isone NFL player who can retire to play in the NBA. If anyone, it has to be Gates or Owens.

What's your thoughts on this?

ya owens is a good basketball player..he could make a team but not a starter...at best a 6th man

Gates and Gonzalez are the first 2 that come to mind
Yep. Tony Gonzalez actually participated in some NBA training camps a few years ago. TO is another guy that comes to mind. If I remembercorrectly, I think he played in some semi-pro league over a summer one year?

Uhhh...my quick answer would be Gates (former baller neway) and T.O. (Still plays ball)...no evidence 2 back this up, but 4 some reason I can see Steve Smithas a speedy, Iverson type...

randy moss. He has the height and leaping ability to play in the NBA. ANd his backcourt mate at Marshall was JWill.

Antonio Gates used to be a good basketball player
every time he catches the ball the commentators say something about how he was a good basketball player
and how he gets position in football because of his basketball abilities

I can see Moss n TO (having seen them play before) and Gates who was on Kent states sweet sixteen team. Dude played basketball exclusivley at KSU.

But in all honesty, it takes a lot more than athletic ability to play in the NBA

Owens.... he wanted to play for the Kings summer league a couple years ago when with Philly I believe.
Gonzalez.
Gates.... played at college.
Moss.... played in HS with J Will, but his leaping ability
eek.gif
I could see him playing.

Brad Johnson about 10 years ago....seriously

ANd his backcourt mate at Marshall was JWill.

Wrong....he was at DuPont HS w. Jason Williams...Moss never hooped in college....Moss, I believe was Mr. Basketball in WVa for 2 years.

Antwaan Randle-El is another name that comes to mind...