Video: Self-Taught Teen Prodigy From Sierra Leone Wows MIT Engineers

hqdefault86.jpg

Check out this real life MacGyver in  the latest installment of the THNKR’s Prodigies YouTube series highlights Sierra Leone teen Kelvin Doe, who is visiting the U.S. as a guest of MIT.

The 15-year-old is a self-taught engineer, who has never taken an engineering or electronics class. Combining scrap metal, baking soda and acid, he created a battery to power his family’s home. He also broadcasts news and music as DJ Focus on the radio, using an RF transmitter he created.

Kelvin is the youngest invitee ever to MIT’s Visiting Practitioner’s Program for international development– and watching THNKR’s look into his trip you’ll understand why. The teen scours trash bins for spare parts, which he uses to build batteries, generators and transmitters.

MIT doctoral student and fellow Sierra Leone-native David Senegh recognized Kelvin’s talents when the two met through Senegh’s non-profit Innovate Salone, which supports high school students looking to solve the country’s toughest challenges. You can support Kelvin and Innovate Salone by donating to its Crowdrise campaign.

kelvin-doe.jpg

Propz Mashable.com

Funny that these kids can build all this in a 3 world country village and we still cant get past 30mpg.

laugh.gif

Funny that these kids can build all this in a 3 world country village and we still cant get past 30mpg.

:lol:

I think this speaks more to the conveniences we think we have in our society that can at times be limitations and distractions.

You got so called "scientific people" running around thinking we don't have to improve on things because the "work". Very un- scientific imo

Last edited:
I saw this on another board. Genius.

Imagine if this kid had access to some of the advanced equipment and education available more readily in "advanced" regions.