Moving to Cali, advice please?

Hey NT.  Right now I'm in the Chi looking forward to packing up and moving to Cali, more specifically LA or San Diego.  I've visited LA, but wasn't looking into their job market, housing, crime rate, etc at the time.  Being Asian, the immense Asian community was rather nice change of pace.  Don't know much about San Diego, however, I heard it was superb as well.  I have a degree but don't plan on venturing into that field (econ), yet, I'm open to taking any job off the back.  Was hoping to get some suggestions on which location your prefer.  In short, my plan is to drive west, find a temp sublet while looking for work.  Advice with all the mentioned above in mind?

good luck, it's hard to find a job here.. cali's economy is going down the hole.. i have a master's degree and been lookin for a job in so cal since last March... Best bet is so rent a room from someone, obviously the cheaper rooms are in areas that are more ghetto. Both SD and LA have many asians so you would fit right in. Don't really know what you're price range is so maybe posting that would help more.

my friends from sd prefer la, and my friends from la prefer sd.

personally, i would rather live in orange county which is local to the beaches, mountains, LA, and SD.

^^ no offense, but your friends mean nothing. only good thing in SD is TJ. and that's not even the same country anymore!!!

but the OC is kool too.

Haha. I'm getting mixed reviews.

I have enough saved to support myself for about half a year over there without a job. That is, if I can find a roommate or rent for around or under $1000. Hiking, beaches are important. Asian community is important. Jobs are very important.

I jumped ship and lived/worked in China for half a year. I don't know why moving to Cali seems more difficult to me, haha.

Originally Posted by wiredz3

Haha. I'm getting mixed reviews.